Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google

Tippett & Modano Honored

Each Receives Awards at the Dallas All-Sports Association Annual Banquet

Wednesday, 09.03.2008 / 12:10 PM / Feature
By Dallas Stars Staff
Share with your Friends

Tippett & Modano Honored

Dallas Stars Head Coach Dave Tippett and center Mike Modano were both honored by the Dallas All-Sports Association (DASA) at the organization’s Awards Banquet on Tuesday evening at the Fairmont Hotel in Dallas.

The All-Sports Awards Banquet is DASA's signature event and has been for the past 42 years. Held each year at a major Dallas hotel for more than 1,000 guests, DASA's All-Sports Awards Banquet is a black-tie celebration of scholarship and sports excellence that honors national and regional sports figures with myriad awards and honors, while also honoring deserving underprivileged youth with college scholarships.

Tippett received the prestigious Tom Landry Coaches Award, given to a coach deemed to have reflected the high values, beliefs and professionalism that the former Dallas Cowboys coach showed in his life and career. Coach Tippett received the award for the second time in his career, also earning it in his first year as coach of the Dallas Stars in 2002-2003.

“I am sincerely honored to be the recipient of this great award,” Tippett said. “Tom Landry was a legend and his values as a person are second to none. I’d like to thank DASA and all of the fans that have supported us.

“I’d be remiss if I did not thank our fantastic support staff. We have some incredible people who do all of the hard work behind the scenes like Rick Wilson, Mark Lamb, Derek MacKinnon, J.J. McQueen and many more within the entire Stars organization. The head coach gets thrust into the spotlight but these are the people who really do a lion’s share of the work. And it all starts with great ownership from Tom Hicks and his family.”

Tippett was given the award by Tom Landry, Jr. at the banquet.

“The entire Landry family is a class act and it has been a pleasure to meet them and get to know them over the years. Again, this is a tremendous honor for me.”

Stars center Mike Modano was awarded the Emmitt Smith End Zone Award, given to an individual who has shown a relentless pursuit of athletic perfection and performance.

Emmitt himself was there to present Modano with the award, who did not mince words is describing his thoughts on the Stars’ franchise player.

“He’s the best, plain and simple,” Smith said. “Mike Modano is hockey, especially when it comes to the Dallas Stars. He is a champion and an outstanding individual. We are very lucky to have him as a part of the Dallas community.”

Modano accepted the award with pride.

“It’s a privilege to receive this award with Emmitt’s name on it,” Modano said. “I’ve known Emmitt a long time and he’s a good friend. He is the symbol of excellence and to be mentioned in the same sentence as he is an honor.

“Coach Tippett was correct in thanking those around our team for all of our accomplishments. I certainly couldn’t have achieved what I have without great coaches and teammates over the years. I’d also like to thank DASA, the local media and all of the fans who have supported us. It means a lot.”

Other awardees at the banquet included:

Field Scovell Award: Gymnast Nastia Liukin
Lamar Hunt Award: Cowboys Owner and GM Jerry Jones
Big D Award: Gymnastics Coach Valeri Liukin
Pat Summerall Journalism Award: Sportscaster Norm Hitzges
Legends Award: NBA Hall of Famer Nancy Lieberman
Don Nelson Award: Baylor basketball coach Scott Drew
Courage Award: Dallas Maverick Jason Terry
Motor Sports Award: Kyle Petty
ESPN Fan Favorite Award: Rangers CF Josh Hamilton
Olympic Award of Excellence: 2004 gold medalist Carly Patterson and coach Yevgeny Marchenko

Also in attendance at this year's event was Deion Sanders, Jim Sundberg, Clark Hunt (Lamar’s son), Herschel Walker, Dallas Mayor Leppert, and Arlington Mayor Bob Cluck. The banquet was hosted by Scott Murray.




1 NSH 65 41 17 7 193 158 89
2 ANA 65 41 17 7 193 178 89
3 STL 63 40 18 5 197 159 85
4 CHI 64 38 21 5 188 152 81
5 WPG 64 32 20 12 179 172 76
6 VAN 63 36 24 3 182 173 75
7 MIN 63 34 22 7 179 163 75
8 CGY 63 34 25 4 178 162 72
9 LAK 63 30 21 12 171 164 72
10 SJS 65 32 25 8 185 183 72
11 DAL 64 28 26 10 199 212 66
12 COL 63 27 25 11 167 182 65
13 ARI 64 20 37 7 139 218 47
14 EDM 64 18 36 10 145 213 46


J. Benn 64 23 38 -4 61
T. Seguin 55 29 30 0 59
J. Spezza 64 15 37 -5 52
J. Klingberg 50 10 24 2 34
E. Cole 57 18 15 4 33
T. Daley 61 16 17 -10 33
C. Eakin 61 15 15 0 30
A. Hemsky 58 9 17 -9 26
A. Goligoski 64 2 24 2 26
A. Roussel 62 12 12 -10 24
K. Lehtonen 26 13 10 .906 2.95
J. Enroth 13 25 2 .900 3.30
#LONESTARSSTATE GAMEDAY FAN is the official Web site of DSE Hockey Club, L.P.  The Stars name and logos are registered trademarks of the NHL and the Stars. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2015 DSE Hockey Club, L.P. and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Corporate Partnerships | Contact UsPrivacy Policy | AdChoices | Job Opportunities | Terms of Use | Site Map | Find us on Google+