Social Networks
  • RSS

Mike Modano Named To United States Hockey Hall of Fame

Wednesday, 07.11.2012 / 7:35 PM CT / News
Dallas Stars
Share with your Friends

Mike Modano Named To United States Hockey Hall of Fame

Frisco, TX. – USA Hockey announced today that Dallas Stars legend Mike Modano will be enshrined into the United States Hockey Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2012. The three-member class, which also includes New Jersey Devils executive Lou Lamoriello and former NHL player and current NBC Sports announcer Eddie Olczyk, will be formally installed into the Hall this fall, with a date and location of the ceremonies to be announced in the near future.

"What a remarkable class," said Ron DeGregorio, president of USA Hockey. "The positive impact this group has had on our sport is one that will be felt for decades to come."

LISTEN: Mike Modano joined the media for a conference call to discuss his USHHOF induction

With a professional career that spanned over 21 NHL seasons, Modano is the NHL's all-time goal-scoring and points leader among American-born players with 561 goals and 1,374 points. Modano also holds records for the most NHL playoff points (145) by an American-born player and games played (1,499) by an American-born forward.

Modano holds Dallas Stars franchise records for most games played (1,459), goals (557), assists (802) and points (1,359). Drafted first overall by the Minnesota North Stars in the 1988 NHL Entry Draft, Modano helped lead the Dallas Stars to seven division titles, two Western Conference crowns, two Presidents Trophies and the 1999 Stanley Cup championship. He was also a part of the U.S. Men's National Team that captured the gold medal at the 1996 World Cup of Hockey, and helped Team USA to a silver-medal finish at the 2002 Olympic Winter Games.

The Livonia, Mich., native played 20 seasons with the Stars franchise (1989-2010) before joining the Detroit Red Wings for the 2010-2011 season, his last in the NHL. Modano played in eight NHL All-Star Games during his career and represented Team USA in international competition on 11 occasions across three decades, including the 2002 and 2006 Olympic Winter Games.

U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame inductees are chosen on the basis of extraordinary contribution to the sport of hockey in the United States. The U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame was founded in 1973, and there are 153 enshrined members in the Hall, which is located in Eveleth, Minn.


PROMOTIONAL is the official Web site of DSE Hockey Club, L.P.  The Stars name and logos are registered trademarks of the NHL and the Stars. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2015 DSE Hockey Club, L.P. and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Corporate Partnerships | Contact UsPrivacy Policy | AdChoices | Job Opportunities | Terms of Use | Site Map | Find us on Google+