• RSS

Dallas Stars AHL Affiliate Texas Stars Win Calder Cup Championship

Ten Dallas Stars Draft Picks Take Part in Winning Effort

Tuesday, 06.17.2014 / 8:41 PM CT / Official Releases
By Dallas Stars Staff
Share with your Friends

Dallas Stars AHL Affiliate Texas Stars Win Calder Cup Championship

The Texas Stars, Dallas' development affiliate in the American Hockey League (AHL), claimed their franchise's first Calder Cup Trophy as the victors of the Calder Cup Playoffs Tuesday night by defeating the St. John's Ice Caps by a final score of 4-3 in overtime in their fifth game of the series (won series 4-1).

"One of the trademarks of an elite organization is their ability to train and develop players in a winning environment," said Dallas Stars General Manager Jim Nill. "The Texas Stars have done a great job with all of these facets this season and I know firsthand that the rewards from winning the Calder Cup will have a profoundly positive impact for each of our prospects and our team in Dallas as we move forward. We congratulate Scott White, as well as Willie Desjardins, the players and the rest of the Texas Stars staff for an outstanding season."

Ten Dallas Stars draft picks participated in at least one game during this year's Calder Cup Playoffs for Texas. All 10 are listed below:

Jack Campbell (1st round, 11th overall in 2010)
Radek Faksa (1st round, 13th overall in 2012)
Scott Glennie
(1st round, 8th overall in 2009)
Jyrki Jokipakka (7th round, 195th overall in 2011)
Curtis McKenzie (6th round, 159th overall in 2009)
Patrik Nemeth (2nd round, 41st overall in 2010)
Jamie Oleksiak (1st round, 14th overall in 2011)
Brett Ritchie (2nd round, 44th overall in 2011)
Matej Stransky (6th round, 165th overall in 2011)
Branden Troock (5th round, 134th overall in 2012)

Other Texas Stars currently under contract by the Dallas Stars include Chris Mueller, Hubert Labrie, Justin Dowling, Dustin Jeffrey, Travis Morin, Maxime Fortunus, Cameron Gaunce, Taylor Peters, Toby Petersen, and Christopher Nilstorp.

In their first five seasons in existence, all of which have been as the AHL affiliate of the Dallas Stars, Texas has proved to be one of the most successful franchises in the entire AHL, making two trips to the Calder Cup Finals (2010, 2014), qualifying for the playoffs in four of their five seasons (2010, 2011, 2013, 2014) and have posted 40-win campaigns four times. During the 2013-14 regular season, Texas posted a franchise record 48 wins, claiming the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy as the AHL's regular season points champion, as well as the John D. Chick Trophy as the West Division Champions.

DallasStars.com is the official Web site of DSE Hockey Club, L.P.  The Stars name and logos are registered trademarks of the NHL and the Stars. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016 DSE Hockey Club, L.P. and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Corporate Partnerships | Contact UsPrivacy Policy | AdChoices | Job Opportunities | NHL.com Terms of Use | Site Map | Find us on Google+