Dallas
Stars
37-31-14
Phoenix
Coyotes
50-25-7

32 SOG
29 SOG
1st2nd3rdT
DAL
PHX
  • Preview
  • Watch
  • Ice Tracker
  • Boxscore
  • Recap
  • photos (36)
game preview

Stars seek to avenge earlier loss at Phoenix

Friday, 11.27.2009 / 6:00 PM

NHL.com

Share with your Friends


Stars seek to avenge earlier loss at Phoenix
Dallas Stars vs. Phoenix Coyotes
STATS
24 GP 25
11 W 13
6 L 11
7 OT 1
29 P 27
0.604 P% 0.540
3.00 G/G 2.32
2.67 GA/G 2.44
19.5 PP% 21.3
77.9 PK% 82.4
31.7 S/G 29.2
29.7 SA/G 26.8
47.1 FO% 51.7
DATE VIS/HOME FINAL
Nov 14, 2009 DAL@PHX PHX, 3 - 2

STARS (11-6-7) at COYOTES (13-11-1)

Last 10 - Stars 5-3-2; Coyotes 4-5-1

Season series - The Stars are visiting Jobing.com Arena for the second time in less than two weeks. The Coyotes claimed a 3-2 win on Nov. 14, as David Schlemko netted his first NHL goal with 24.3 seconds left in the middle period to snap a 1-1 tie and Radim Vrbata added what held up as the game-winner 3:35 into the third. Ilya Bryzgalov stopped 26 shots.

Big story - It's been a struggle putting pucks in the net recently for Phoenix, which is 2-3-1 in its last half-dozen games with just 10 goals during that span. Feeling the frustration in particular is Coyotes captain Shane Doan, who leads the team with 16 points but has been held off the scoresheet in seven of the last eight games.

"It's starting to get a little monotonous, the fact that we can't score, and it starts with me," Doan said after a 2-1 loss in Calgary on Wednesday. "There's absolutely nothing positive to take out of that (game)."

Team Scope:

Stars - Brenden Morrow scored with 25.4 seconds left to force overtime as Dallas grabbed a point from Wednesday's 4-3 shootout loss to St. Louis and finished a four-game homestand with a 2-1-1 mark. Brad Richards was one player who came away less than pleased with the Stars' effort.

"It was a sloppy game. We started out doing what we wanted to do, but for some reason we decided not to do it anymore,'' Richards said. "That's not how we wanted to play. We started turning pucks over and not doing what we did in the first 10 minutes. We weren't going to keep them to zero shots for the whole game.''

Coyotes - A pair of key defensemen returned to the lineup Wednesday, as Phoenix activated Ed Jovanovski and Zbynek Michalek off injured reserve. Another one scored, as Keith Yandle connected on a third-period power play to tie the score. In the end, though, the Flames edged the Coyotes on a Nigel Dawes goal with 5:44 remaining.

"We're very disappointed. We're not happy with the entire game," blueliner Adrian Aucoin said. "We knew the quality of team that they are, but we didn't play our game. I think we let points slip away."

Who's hot - Richards has 1 goal and 7 assists in the Stars' last three games. Yandle has power-play goals in two of the Coyotes' last three games.

Injury report - Dallas defenseman Nicklas Grossman has missed the last two games with a lower-body injury. Forward Brian Sutherby was placed on injured reserve with a groin injury. … Phoenix continues to play without defenseman Kurt Sauer (head), who hasn't seen action since the season opener.

Stat pack - Dallas was one of the League's best shootout teams entering the season, with a 32-14 all-time record, but Wednesday's loss leaves the Stars 1-5 this season in the penalty-shot tiebreaker.

Puck drop - The goal light operator doesn't get much of a workout when the Coyotes are involved. Their 2.32 goals-per-game average is 28th in the League; conversely, their team goals-against average of 2.44 is fourth-best.

2009-2010 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Mar 21 '10PHX 3 at DAL 2 - SOA. Aucoin
Feb 13 '10DAL 3 at PHX 0B. Segal
Feb 06 '10PHX 0 at DAL 4J. Neal
Jan 31 '10PHX 4 at DAL 2R. Vrbata
Nov 27 '09DAL 2 at PHX 5L. Korpikoski
Nov 14 '09DAL 2 at PHX 3R. Vrbata
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
B. Richards2372330+3220
J. Neal21111122+42721
L. Eriksson2591120+51051
M. Ribeiro2581220-21230
B. Morrow259817+13542
S. Robidas256915+31841
J. Benn2541014-21211
T. Wandell253710+2802
M. Niskanen23178-8601
M. Modano12347+0600
F. Brunnstrom17167-1600
B. Sutherby17415+61500
S. Ott19235-74010
K. Skrastins25055-4400
T. Petersen23314+0200
T. Daley25123-11111
M. Fistric22123+51200
N. Grossmann23022+81000
K. Barch22022-14800
W. Peters2101+1000
J. Woywitka11011-2400
J. Lehtinen11011-5000
F. Wathier2000+0500
A. Gagnon1000+0000
P. Lindgren1000+0000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
M. Turco188-5-5445142.44.914
A. Auld83-2-2242273.21.894
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
S. Doan2661117-71540
M. Lombardi2241115-41630
R. Lang266814-2820
E. Jovanovski185813+01232
A. Aucoin264913-32202
R. Vrbata267512+1822
S. Upshall247411+13001
K. Yandle264711+32531
V. Fiddler263811+5800
M. Hanzal25369-54110
D. Winnik26279+4201
Z. Michalek17246+3810
P. Prucha25235-2610
D. Schlemko11145+3600
J. Vandermeer25224+13401
P. Mueller24134-4401
S. Lepisto24044-72200
T. Pyatt19123+51000
L. Korpikoski17202+0001
S. Heshka8022+0400
P. Bissonnette17101+05600
M. Boedker7011+1000
K. Porter2000+1000
K. Sauer1000+1000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
I. Bryzgalov2213-8-1465682.12.919
J. LaBarbera51-3-0121292.67.907
DallasStars.com is the official Web site of Dallas Stars, L.P.  The Stars name and logos are registered trademarks of the NHL and the Stars. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2013 Dallas Stars, L.P. and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Corporate Partnerships | Contact Us | Code Of Conduct | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | Job Opportunities | NHL.com Terms of Use | Site Map | Find us on Google+