Dallas
Stars
40-31-11
Pittsburgh
Penguins
51-24-7

33 SOG
32 SOG
1st2nd3rdT
DAL
PIT
  • Preview
  • Watch
  • Ice Tracker
  • Boxscore
  • Recap
  • photos (59)
game preview

Penguins forward Neal could return vs. Stars

Monday, 03.17.2014 / 11:43 PM

Jon Lane - NHL.com Staff Writer

Share with your Friends


Penguins forward Neal could return vs. Stars
Dallas Stars vs. Pittsburgh Penguins

STARS (32-24-11) at PENGUINS (44-19-4)

TV: TXA 21, ROOT

Last 10: Dallas 6-3-1; Pittsburgh 4-4-2

Season series: This is the second of two games between the Dallas Stars and Pittsburgh Penguins. Kari Lehtonen's second shutout in three games led the Stars to a 3-0 win on Jan. 26. The Stars also head to Pittsburgh for the first time since Nov. 11, 2011, a 3-1 Penguins win, and are winless in their past five games at Consol Energy Center.

Big story: The Stars continue their three-game road trip Tuesday in Pittsburgh competing with the Phoenix Coyotes, Vancouver Canucks and Winnipeg Jets for the second Western Conference wild-card spot in the Stanley Cup Playoffs. The Penguins, currently second in the Eastern Conference, will look to get back on the winning track after losing two straight weekend games to the Philadelphia Flyers.

Team Scope:

Stars: Dallas entered MTS Centre in Winnipeg on Sunday 3-0-1 in its previous four games and winners of eight of its past 12, but it was downhill after they took a 2-1 lead in the first period. The Stars allowed six unanswered goals in a 7-2 loss and stayed overnight in Winnipeg to practice Monday before flying to Pittsburgh.

In an air-tight playoff race, Stars coach Lindy Ruff knows there's no margin for error.

“I didn't think we were committed enough," Ruff told the Dallas Morning News. "We didn't win enough wall battles and we made some mistakes that we haven't been making. First and foremost, it falls on my shoulders to help them understand what went wrong. On the good side, it's our first really bad game in a little while.

"I'm excited about the challenge, and I think the team is excited about the challenge. These are going to be great games, and we need to be ready for them."

Penguins: Plagued by injuries all season, the Penguins had forward James Neal (concussion) return to practice Monday. Neal reported no issues and believes he could play Tuesday if he feels good the next morning.

Forward Chris Kunitz (lower body) and Beau Bennett (wrist/hand) also practiced, but it's unclear if they'll play against the Stars. And though defenseman Kris Letang remains out indefinitely, he skated Monday nearly two months after having a stroke and told reporters his goal is to return this season.

"There's no doubt in my mind," Letang said. "Even the day I got the stroke, I asked the doctor when I'm going to be able to play again. So there's no doubt about it. If I'm on the ice today, it's because I want to return."

Who's hot: Stars forward Alex Chiasson has a point in four of his past six games. Center Tyler Seguin 30th goal Sunday gave him 11 points (five goals, six assists) in a five-game point streak … Penguins center Sidney Crosby has five points (two goals, three assists) in his past five games.

Injury report: Stars center Shawn Horcoff (upper body) may not play on Dallas' road trip. Forward Rich Peverley (heart surgery) is out for the season, but Lehtonen (concussion) should be available to play Tuesday … Penguins defenseman Paul Martin (broken hand), forwards Chris Conner (hand surgery) and Pascal Dupuis (right knee surgery), and goalie Tomas Vokoun (blood clot, hip) are on injured reserve.

Follow Jon Lane on Twitter: @JonLaneNHL

2013-2014 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Mar 18 '14DAL 1 at PIT 5C. Kunitz
Jan 25 '14PIT 0 at DAL 3S. Gonchar
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
T. Seguin66313970+13485
J. Benn68273764+165443
A. Goligoski6752732-42630
C. Eakin67131730-102631
V. Nichushkin65131730+17822
R. Peverley6272330-31502
E. Cole68161329-152034
A. Chiasson65121729-243253
R. Whitney6172027-91420
A. Roussel67121224-317802
R. Garbutt61121224+57901
S. Gonchar6221820-71611
S. Horcoff6471118-14640
B. Dillon676915+57201
T. Daley5451015-23001
V. Fiddler6241014-23101
J. Benn6431114+112610
K. Connauton34178-41600
S. Robidas24415+71210
C. Sceviour12415-1212
D. Jeffrey22022-4200
L. MacDermid6022+2500
A. Rome19011-2400
T. Morin4011+2000
M. Fortunus1011+1000
C. Gaunce9000+1700
J. Oleksiak7000-3200
C. Mueller6000-1000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
K. Lehtonen5425-17-1013315692.52.915
T. Thomas4418-21-411912892.90.908
D. Ellis145-6-0353493.04.900
J. Campbell10-1-06476.00.872
C. Nilstorp10-0-03174.62.824
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
S. Crosby68335891+1040105
E. Malkin57194766+125653
C. Kunitz66322961+2758138
J. Neal45222749+134383
J. Jokinen68173047+101244
M. Niskanen68103040+314536
L. Stempniak5992029-193000
O. Maatta6791928+111431
M. Goc69111324-63301
B. Sutter68111223-21211
P. Dupuis3971320+6800
K. Letang3410818-61461
J. Vitale5211314+02901
B. Orpik6021113-14600
T. Glass534812-68100
B. Gibbons274812+4210
P. Martin3321012-1801
D. Engelland496511-45001
C. Adams68369-103800
J. Megna26538+2202
R. Bortuzzo42077-46100
C. Conner19415-3200
S. Despres26044+22200
T. Pyatt45213-231811
B. Bennett12123+0000
R. Scuderi39033-2000
C. Kobasew32202+11502
H. Zolnierczyk11202+0800
D. Jeffrey10011-2200
M. D'Agostini8011-1400
A. Ebbett7011-1000
B. Dumoulin6011+1400
Z. Sill20000-41200
P. Samuelsson5000-1000
P. Letourneau-Leblond1000+0000
N. Drazenovic1000-1200
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
M. Fleury5434-15-312414842.34.916
J. Zatkoff1611-4-1394732.52.918
DallasStars.com is the official Web site of Dallas Stars, L.P.  The Stars name and logos are registered trademarks of the NHL and the Stars. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2013 Dallas Stars, L.P. and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Corporate Partnerships | Contact Us | Code Of Conduct | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | Job Opportunities | NHL.com Terms of Use | Site Map | Find us on Google+